Latest buzz on twitter

Taking worship into pubs/clubs
28 replies

I'm a guitarist in a church band in Dorset. Recently, I've been thinking that I would love to take worship into pubs and clubs so that people who wouldn't otherwise set foot in a church can experience a band worshiping God in song. We have a wonderful heritage of music and song in the modern church that even on face value is wonderful to listen to even for someone who doesn't want to enter into the worship aspect of it. I'd be grateful for any comments from anyone who has experience of playing in or taking a Christian band into secular venues, the format (how it was done) and what the people's response was to it. Also, whether or not they think it's a valid form of evangelism and any theological thoughts they may have on the subject. God bless!

Hi David

if its on your heart then go for it, this is something i have always wanted to do but i would have to pay christian musicians to do it.

and i dont have the finances to do it, half of the songs i wrote come out of talking to people on the streets and handing out tracts.

praise and worship music should be coming out of the church, into the schools, prisions, colleges, universities.

plus the clubs and pubs, to be honest i get sick and tired of all the building the church and local church talks.

when there are people ouside side of the church who dont know who jesus is. its time to get our music outside the four walls on the church.

joel houston of hillsong united said

if what we are doing inside the church is having no effect on whats happing outside the church were missing the point.

4 times it says in the bible to go out into the world and preach the gospel. mark 13:10 mark 16:15 matthew 24:14 matthew 28:19.

fishers of men mathew 4:19 mark 1:17 the harvest is great the labourers are few matthew 9:37 luke 10:2 many are called few are chosen matthew 20:16 matthew 22:14.

youre saying to the lord here i am send me isaiah 6:8, go for it.